Posted by: TomA | 2 August 2009

The Slog To Publication

Over 6 months since I finished my MSc dissertation, I’ve revived it having had a chat with my supervisor who wants me to try and get it published, either solo or co-authoring with him. Which seems a great opportunity to make a contribution to the academic field; even better as he believes it stands a good chance of making a good/excellent journal.

Just need to find the time to sit down and work on it now – 15,000 words cut down to 3,000-5,000 heavily edited and revised words. The process may take some time – not just in the initial editing and rewriting, but submitting to journals, waiting for referees to comment/criticise, answering those, repeating, resubmitting and hopefully, one day in the future, receiving that acceptance.

Re-reading it the other week I was struck by how much I enjoyed writing it at the time, even given the circumstances. It makes me wander whether what I’m currently doing is what I want to be doing; would I enjoy the “academic” lifestyle more and am I even cut out for it? This is a test. If I can enjoy this and get the satisfaction from it, maybe doing a bit of research into a PhD for 2010 or 2012 isn’t such a bad idea.

Leave a Reply

Categories

