Posted by: TomA | 3 June 2008

The Start of the Vaccination Season

So, after a lengthy wait it was my turn to see the nurse this afternoon and discover just how many needles she was intending to stick in me. And the answer was a rather disappointing: 1.

Which means I’ve typhoid out of the way but plenty more to look forward. Off to have more jabs tomorrow, for rabies and a combined hepatitis A & B, and back on Friday for some tick born encephalitis. Then they come thick and fast: rabies and the hep jabs come almost weekly, TBE I get to wait until just before I leave for the next dose.

I hadn’t intended on getting the rabies jab but it turned out to be quite a bargain. I’d seen elsewhere it’d cost people in excess of £150 for the course; I’m getting 3 doses a £20 a shot. The nurse also pointed out that Mongolian hospitals are unlikely to have a ready supply of the immunoglobulin, which I’d need in order not to die were I unlikely enough to be bitten by something bigger than a mosquito. TBE will set me back £65 for each dose though: I’m uncertain whether this will hurt my arm or my wallet more. Either way, I’m not looking forward to it…

So, £190 and 9 shots. Glee.

Leave a Reply

Categories

