Posted by: TomA | 7 April 2008

Taylor Swift

imageCountry music. That’s the stuff.

I’d been used to having country hits leaking from the radio when driving through the southern states of the USA last summer. Driving through rural Lincolnshire at the weekend, listening to Radio 2 (oh fuck… am I really that old???), I was mildly surprised to be faced with some of the same country hits.

And within seconds of Taylor Swift’s new single starting, it took me back from the Fens to the Arizonan deserts, a far more apt setting. What is it about country music that is SO right for driving to? Simply the hilarity of an 18 year old singing about not being able to drive old pick up trucks? Oh, and the opening verse had me in fits of giggles.

State the obvious / I didn’t get my perfect fantasy
I realized you love yourself / More that you could ever love me
So go and tell your friends / That I’m obsessive and crazy
That’s fine / I’ll tell mine
You’re gay

That, my friends, is lyrically mastery.

Taylor Swift – Picture To Burn

Several of her press pictures are just too amusing not to include. My favourite is after the jump.

Leave a Reply

Categories

