Posted by: TomA | 24 August 2007

Green Man Festival

Green Man was possibly the nicest festival I’ve ever been to, helped no end by the gorgeous Welsh hills in the DSC06522background, the pleasant and friendly people and the sheer volume of bubbles. Not only that, there was a near total lack of festival hats and individuals acting like idiots (they were too busy making bubbles). [Why do people feel the need to wear silly hats to music festivals? Oh my god, I’m about to have fun, but first I need to put on my silly hat so everyone knows… psh.]

 

It’s taken me a touch longer than planned to write this entry, so there’ll be far less detail than there would have been. So,briefly, as follows:

DSC06541Joanna Newsom was magical. Her voice has come on leaps and bounds from The Milk-Eyed Mender, which great at the time, occasional started to grate. First time I’ve been in a festival crowd with people going “shhh!” in order to listen intently.

Bill Callahan was as spectacularly gorgeous as J.N. Since seeing him in Austin I feel I might be becoming obsessed with his music. I don’t believe this is a bad thing at all, for his voice is sex. I have nothing else to say on the matter. But mmmmmm.DSC06518

Tunng were disappointing, the samples and beats felt somewhat tacked on live, failing to glide in and out of the live guitars and vocals. Shame.

Gilbert were the best discovery of Friday, coming across as [cheap, lazy, comparison] Sigur Ros fronted by Bjork.

The Broken Family Band are turning into one of my favourite live bands. Ever.

Vashti Bunyan sounded great, as did Battles. The latter drew a crowd with a lot of glow sticks. Glow sticks at a folk festival?

DSC06557Misty’s Big Adventure, Gruff Rhys and Malcolm Middleton were good too. Disappointed a bit by the North Sea Radio Orchestra (too traditional), My Brightest Diamond (too noisy and too little of interest) and Herman Dune (not the same unless Andre and David are there); Six Organs of Admittance, Monkey Swallows The Universe and Seasick Steve all exceeded my expectations.

The festival itself comes thoroughly recommended: it had some fantastic pies, a tent of farm equipment and somewhere to go and knit. What more could you want?

Leave a Reply

Categories

