Posted by: TomA | 11 December 2006

Mince Pies

I have spent my evening making 21 beautifully hand crafted mince pies. Entirely from scratch. (Well, I bought the mince meat at Granville Island market, and nor did I milk the cow, etc….) You can’t buy pastry over here, like Delia suggests on her website. So I followed her recipe, made lots of mess, and am now the proud owner of a large plate of pies. It wasn’t easy, Safeway was a challenge as ever (a combination of the least inspiring product lines and staff who’re, well, hardly the brightest chaps around), but pies I have, and I feel slightly Christmassy. Which is worrying.

Responses

  1. Took the original mince pie pics to school and everyone said ‘ahhh doesn’t he look sweet’ not anymore I said, the photos are 20 years old! Any photographic evidence of your cooking skills or have you eaten them already?


Leave a Reply

Categories

